#### Dr. SHIBU SIMON M.V. Sc. Ph.D. Assistant Professor & Head Livestock Research Station

Thiruvazhamkunnu, Alanallur (Via)
Palakkad - 678 601, Kerala, India
Verbringry & Animal Sciences University

## Kerala Veterinary & Animal Sciences Universit DRISYA 2006

The Department of Animal Husbandry and Engadiyoor Grama Panchayat jointly hosted "DRISYA 2006" a grand exhibition on the latest in Animal Husbandry to Commemorate the **50**th anniversary of the formation of the state. This grand event was conducted over three days from December 7th to 9th 2006 at G.M.U.P School Chettuva. As the programme had the blessings of the Animal Husbandry Minister Sri. C. Divakaran, the Department had alloted a sizable fund for the exhibition and



seminar.

The exhibition was inaugurated by the Honorable Minister for Animal Husbandry Shri. C. Divakaran in the presence of a galaxy of dignitaries including Sri. T. N. Prathapan M.L.A, Sri. Abdulkhader. M.L.A, Smt. Vasantha Maheswaran, Thalikulam block panchyat President, Smt. AnithaBaburaj, District panchat member, Dr.R. Vijakumar, Director of Animal



Husbandary, Dr. K.G. Suma. Addl.Director Animal Husbandary, Dr. Ani. S. Das, MD K.L.D Board, Sri. Haris Babu, Engadiyoor grama Panchayat president, and many more. Apublic procession involving thousands of Kudumbasri members, School children, Local Farmers and elephants proceded the inauguration.

Evening, a state level quiz programme was conducted for school children on 7/12/2006 as part of Drisya 2006. Dr. Menon Raju Madhavan was Quiz master.

The second day was devoted to seminar on various topics of interest for the farmers. The sessions were inaugurated by Adv. V. Sunil Kumar M.L.A. Dr. R. Vijaya kumar, Dr. K. Udaya Varman, Dr. P.C. Saseendran addressed the gathering. Dr. S. Sulochana, Rtd. Dean, Veterinary College Mannuthy

was the moderator. Farmers from all the panchayath in Thrissur district participated the seminar. Dr. A. Jalaludin, Dr. P.V Mohanan, Dr. C.N Dinesh, Dr. M.R. Sasidhranath, Dr. George. T. Ommen and Dr. T.P. Sethu madhavan, presented papers. In the evening, Sri. K.P. Rajendran, Honourable minister for Revenue was the chief guest at a function to honor leading dairy farmers in Engadiyoor panchyath.



The third day witnessed on active face off between the heads of Animal Husbandry Department, K.L.D. Board, E.R.C.M.P.U. Ltd , Doordarsan, Dairydepartment. on one side and a very demanding group of farmers and public on the other side (Jenahitham). The Interactive session was inaugurated by Sri. Murali Perunelli M.L.A. Sri. A.C. Moideen M.L.A offered felicitation and honored a few successful farmers. Dr. G. Shudhodanan was the moderator.

The exhibition spread over three days attracted around a lakh of farmers from far and wide. Thousands of school children had the oppertunity to see a wide variety of exhibits. Different breeds of cattle including local breeds, Vechur, High range Dwarf, Kasarkode Dwarf, HF Cow etc., Different breeds of Goats including Attapadi Black, Beetel, Jamunapari, Malabari, Kashmiri, Jakkarana etc, Differents breeds of Rabbits, Poultry, Pigeon, Dogs, were on display in the stalls.

Curious onlookers had a chance to have a look at Emu Elephant calf, Horse and different breeds of Dogs. The Kerala Agricultural University, Kerala Livestock Development Board, Jubilee Mission Medical College Thrissur, Meat Products of India, L.M.T.C, Kodappanakunnu, Forestry College. Dairy Science College, had put up stalles at the venue.

The Valedictory function was inaugurated by Sri. T.N. Prathapan M.L.A and presided over by Sri. V.N. Renadev, Chairman, Drisya 2006, Dr. K. Udayavarman, Dr. K.G. Suma offered felicitation. Dr. P.D. Suresh, Veterinary Surgeon Engadiyoor and Sri. Harish Babu, President, Engadiyoor Grama panchayath were awarded a trophy for putting up a grand show.

I.V.A. would like to congratulate Sri. Haris Babu, Dr. P.D. Suresh and their team of Thrissur Vets for the great event.

### **IVA AWARDS 2006**

State Level Best Veterinarian Award – Dr. Sisy Philip

Best District President
- Dr. P. L. Thomas,
Alappuzha

Best District Secretary

Dr. P. Selvakumar,

Thiruvananthapuram

Best District Unit - Kozhikode

#### "District Level Best VET Award"

- 1. Thiruvananthapuram Dr. A PS Nair
- 2. Kollam Dr. Santhosh. S
- 3. Pathanamthitta Dr. Sisy Phillip
- 4. Alappuzha Dr. V. Gopakumar
- 5. Kottayam Dr. Saju Joseph
- 6. Idukki Dr. Madhu. G. S.
- 7. Ernakulam Dr. Molly Varghese
- 8. Thrissur Dr. Vinodkumar. K.
- 9. Palakkad Dr. T. Prakash
- 10. Malappuram Dr. V.K.P.Mohankumar
- 11. Kozhikode Dr. P. T. Dinesh
- 12. Wayanad Dr. Sherly G

S

Э.

٧,

٦a

วท

na

nd

u,

eat

- 13. Kannur Dr. P. V. Mohanan
- 14. Kasargod Dr. Chandrababu. L.

#### いる、K.V. ASHOKAN MEMORIAL AWARD

**Dr. N.Sudhodhanan**, Senior Veterinary Surgeon, VPC, Chittoor, Palakkad bagged Dr.K.V.Ashokan Memorial Best Veteri narian Award for the year 2006. He was selected for his contributions in the identification of High Range Dwarf Cattle Breed. He has earlier received the Farm Journalism Special Jury Award for the year 2006, instituted by IVA, Kerala.

Sea And award goes to Mr. Biju Prasad M. of 2000 batch of COVAS, Mannuthy.

# Appreciation Awards 2006

- 1. Dr. S. Gopakumar, Editor, News Letter
- 2. Dr. Shibu Simon, Editor, JIVA
- 3. Dr. S. M. Sabu, IVA District President, Thiruvananthapuram
- 4. Dr. Preetham Lal, IVA District Secretary, Kannur
- Dr. Biju. P. Habeeb, IVA District Secretary, Thrissur
- Dr. Reghu Ravindran, IVA District Secretary, Wayanad
- 7. Dr. P. P. Balakrishnan, Associate Dean,Veterinary College, Pookot.(for his efforts in bringing up VeterinaryCollege, Pookot)
- 8. Prof (Dr.)Ramakumar. V, Advisor, Indian Veterinary Association, Kerala
- 9. Dr. K. Jayakumar, Editor in Chief,
  JIVA Diary Committee.

## AWARDS OF VET'S WELFARE SOCIETY

**Market Barrier** (1994) (1994) (1994) (1994) (1994) (1994) (1994) (1994) (1994) (1994) (1994) (1994) (1994) (1994)

**Ms.Linu Susan Charles**, D/o Dr.Charles Phillip, Deputy Director (SH), Directorate of Animal Husbandry was awarded for her best performance in Higher Secondary examination.

**Master Vineeth C.S.**, son of Dr.Suja A.B, Assistant Research Officer, I.A.H & V.B, Palode was awarded for his best performance in ICSE.

**Ms.Resmi A.C.**, D/o Dr.A.M. Chandra sekharan Nair, Associate Professor, Dept. of Pharmacology, COVAS, Mannuthy was awarded for her best performance in SSLC examination.